NWP Learning Commons: Indigenous Studies: By Topic

Theorizing Native Studies by Audra Simpson; Andrea Smith (Editor)
Call Number: E 77.2 T446 2014

ISBN: 9780822356677

Publication Date: 2014

This important collection makes a compelling argument for the importance of theory in Native studies. Many of the essays demonstrate how Native studies can productively engage with others seeking to dismantle and decolonize the settler state, including scholars putting theory to use in critical ethnic studies, gender and sexuality studies, and postcolonial studies.
Ways of Knowing: An Introduction to Native Studies in Canada by Yale D. Belanger
Call Number: E 78 C2 B45 2010

ISBN: 9780176440503

Publication Date: 2010

Written in a narrative style that largely avoids technical language, this book is unique in that it is written for students being introduced for the first time to Native issues framed from an academic perspective.
Peace, Power, Righteousness: An Indigenous Manifesto (2nd Edition) by Taiaiake Alfred
Call Number: E 98 T77 A43 2009

ISBN: 9780195430516

Publication Date: 2009

Taiaiake Alfred calls for the indigenous peoples of North America to move beyond their 500-year history of pain, loss, and colonization, and move forward to the reality of self-determination.

Healthcare Books, Web Resources, and Guides

Books & eBooks

Below is a small sample of the ebooks and print books we have related to health.

An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada: Bridging Health and Healing by Vasiliki Douglas
Call Number: RA 395 C2 D68 2022

ISBN: 9780826164124

Publication Date: 2022

This textbook for Canadian nursing and allied health students explores the major health issues of Indigenous populations and how to improve their overall health.
Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples' Health in Canada by Margo Greenwood (editor), Sarah de Leeuw (editor), Roberta Stout (editor), Roseann Larstone (editor), Julie Sutherland (editor)
Call Number: RA 408 I49 I58 2022

ISBN: 9781773383194

Publication Date: 2022

Offering an introductory overview of the determinants of health for Indigenous peoples in Canada, this critical volume cultivates an understanding of the presence of coloniality in healthcare and how it determines First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples' health and well-being.
Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health by Margo Greenwood (Editor); Sarah de Leeuw (Editor); Nicole Marie Lindsay (Editor)
Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 D48 2018

ISBN: 9781773380377

Publication Date: 2018

Now in its second edition, this collection explores how multiple health determinants, such as colonialism, gender, culture, early childhood development, the environment, geography, HIV/AIDS, medicine, and policy, impact the health status of Indigenous peoples in Canada.
Under-Served: Health Determinants of Indigenous, Inner-City, and Migrant Populations in Canada by Akshaya Neil Arya (Editor); Thomas Piggott (Editor)
Call Number: RA 449 U53 2018

ISBN: 9781773380582

Publication Date: 2018

In this edited collection, academics, heath care professionals, and policy-makers examine the historical, political, and social factors that influence the health and health care of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada.
Walking Together, Working Together: Engaging Wisdom for Indigenous Well-being by Leslie Main Johnson (Editor); Janelle Marie Baker (Editor)
Call Number: E 98 M4 W35 2022

ISBN: 9781772125375

Publication Date: 2023

This collection takes a holistic view of well-being, seeking complementarities between Indigenous approaches to healing and Western biomedicine.
Indigenous Peoples and Dementia: New Understandings of Memory Loss and Memory Care by Wendy Hulko (Editor); Danielle Wilson (Editor); Jean Balestrery (Editor)
Call Number: RC 521 I53 2019

ISBN: 9780774837835

Publication Date: 2019

Presenting strategies for health practice and effective collaborative research informed by Indigenous knowledge and worldviews, this book is a valuable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators who seek a better understanding of memory loss and memory care.
Strong Helpers' Teachings: The Value of Indigenous Knowledges in the Helping Professions by Cyndy Baskin
Call Number: HV 40 B38 2022

ISBN: 9781773383309

Publication Date: 2022

With concise theoretical content, illustrative practical applications, rich pedagogical features, and a focus on centering Indigenous worldviews, knowledge, and helping practices, this text is foundational for educators, practitioners, and students of human services, social work, child and youth care, and more.
The Medicine Chest: A Physician's Journey Towards Reconciliation by Jarol Boan
Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 B63 2024

ISBN: 9780889779761

Publication Date: 2024

An examination of the barriers facing Indigenous people within the healthcare system from the perspective of an empathetic settler physician.

Web Resources

Other Library's Guides

Social Work Books and Guides

Books & eBooks

Below is a small sample of the ebooks and print books we have related to social work.

Strong Helpers' Teachings: The Value of Indigenous Knowledges in the Helping Professions by Cyndy Baskin
Call Number: HV 40 B38 2022

ISBN: 9781773383309

Publication Date: 2022

With concise theoretical content, illustrative practical applications, rich pedagogical features, and a focus on centering Indigenous worldviews, knowledge, and helping practices, this text is foundational for educators, practitioners, and students of human services, social work, child and youth care, and more.
Walking Together: The Future of Indigenous Child Welfare on the Prairies by Jason Albert (Editor); Dorothy Badry (Editor); Don Fuchs (Editor); Peter W. Choate (Editor); Marlyn Bennett (Editor); H. Monty Montgomery (Editor)
Call Number: HV 745 P73 W35 2022

ISBN: 9780889778931

Publication Date: 2022

Centering Indigenous knowledge and working to decolonize child welfare, contributors address the over-representation of Indigenous children in the child welfare system, the un-met recommendations of the TRC, the connections between colonialism and fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, the impact of Bill C-92, and more.
Imagining Child Welfare in the Spirit of Reconciliation by Dorothy Badry; H. Monty Montgomery; Daniel Kikulwe; Marlyn Bennett; Don Fuchs
Call Number: Internet Access

ISBN: 9780889775770

Publication Date: 2018

Drawing on the expertise of Indigenous scholars and researchers, including voices from the front lines in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, this book examines child welfare practices in kinship care, FASD, homelessness, aging out of the system, and transitions for rural youth leaving care.
Walking This Path Together: Anti-Racist and Anti-Oppressive Child Welfare Practice by Jeannine Carrière (Editor); Susan Strega (Editor)
Call Number: HV 745 A6 W34 2015

ISBN: 9781552667897

Publication Date: 2015

Authors provide special consideration to the historical and political context of child welfare in Canada and theoretical ideas and concrete practices that support practitioners, educators and students who are looking for anti-racist, anti-oppressive and anti-colonial perspectives on child welfare practice.
Decolonizing Social Work by Mel Gray (Editor); John Coates; Tiani Hetherington
Call Number: Internet Access

ISBN: 9781409426318

Publication Date: 2013

Provides case studies to further scholarship on decolonization, a major analytical and activist paradigm among many of the world's Indigenous Peoples, including educators, tribal leaders, activists, scholars, politicians, and citizens at the grassroots level.
Indigenization Discourse in Social Work: International Perspectives by Koustab Majumdar (Editor); Rajendra Baikady (Editor); Ashok Antony D'Souza (Editor)
Call Number: Internet Access

ISBN: 3031377117

Publication Date: 2023

This contributed volume provides an in-depth understanding of contemporary debates, discussions and insights on Indigenous social work theory, education and practice across the globe.
The Anti-Racist Social Worker: Stories of Activism in Social Care and Occupational Therapy by Tanya Moore (Editor); Glory Simango (Editor)
Call Number: Internet Access

ISBN: 9781914171420

Publication Date: 2021

A call for action told through individual stories. It shows how those in social care and allied health professions can contribute in a meaningful way to the creation of the change we need and encourages everyone to consider their own roles in dismantling racism.

Other Library's Guides

Indigenous Approaches to Social Work - TMU

Women's Studies Books

Books & eBooks

Below is a small sample of the ebooks and print books we have for Women's Studies.

Not Sacred, Not Squaws: Indigenous Feminism Redefined by Cherry Smiley
Call Number: E 98 W8 S56 2023

ISBN: 9781925950649

Publication Date: 2023

Outlines a female-centered theory of colonization and describes the historical and contemporary landscape in which male violence against Indigenous women in Canada and New Zealand is the norm.
Violence Against Indigenous Women: Literature, Activism, Resistance by Allison Hargreaves
Call Number: PS 8089.5 I6 H39 2017

ISBN: 9781771122399

Publication Date: 2017

Indigenous women's literature is a critical site of knowledge-making and critique; this book provides a foundation for reading this literature in the context of Indigenous feminist scholarship and activism and the ongoing intellectual history of Indigenous women's resistance.
Critically Sovereign: Indigenous Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies by Joanne Barker (Editor)
Call Number: E 76.8 C75 2017

ISBN: 9780822363392

Publication Date: 2017

Shows how gender, sexuality, and feminism work as co-productive forces of Native American and Indigenous sovereignty, self-determination, and epistemology.
Living on the Land: Indigenous Women's Understanding of Place by Nathalie Kermoal (Editor); Isabel Altamirano-Jiménez (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1161 L575 2016

ISBN: 9781771990417

Publication Date: 2016

Examines how patriarchy, gender, and colonialism have shaped the experiences of Indigenous women as both knowers and producers of knowledge. From a variety of methodological perspectives, contributors to the volume explore the nature and scope of Indigenous women's knowledge, its rootedness in relationships both human and spiritual, and its inseparability from land and landscape.
Indigenous Women and Feminism: Politics, Activism, Culture by Cheryl Suzack (Editor); Shari M. Huhndorf (Editor); Jeanne Perreault (Editor); Jean Barman (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1155 I64 2010

ISBN: 9780774818070

Publication Date: 2010

A vital and sophisticated discussion, these timely essays will change the way we think about modern feminism and Indigenous women.
Making Space for Indigenous Feminism by Joyce Green (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1161 M34 2007

ISBN: 9781842779293

Publication Date: 2007

This book is by and about Indigenous feminists, whose work demonstrates a powerful and original intellectual and political contribution demonstrating that feminism has much to offer Indigenous women in their struggles against oppression and for equality.

Education Books, Web Resources, and Guides

Books & eBooks

Below is a small sample of the ebooks and print books we have related to education.
See the Language Resources tab on the left to view some juvenile books in our collection.

Ancient and Indigenous Wisdom Traditions in the Americas by Ehaab Abdou (Editor); Theodore Zervas (Editor)
Call Number: LC 1099 A53 2024

ISBN: 9781032766744

Publication Date: 2024

This book brings attention to the understudied and often overlooked question of how curricula and classroom practices might inadvertently reproduce exclusionary discourses and narratives that omit or negate particular cultures, histories, and wisdom traditions.
Teaching Where You Are: Weaving Indigenous and Slow Principles and Pedagogies by Shannon Leddy; Lorrie Miller
Call Number: LC 1099.515 C85 L43 2024

ISBN: 9781487549947

Publication Date: 2024

Teaching Where You Are offers a guide for non-Indigenous educators to work in good ways with Indigenous students and provides resources across curricular areas to support all students.
Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education: Mapping the Long View by Linda Tuhiwai Smith (Editor); Eve Tuck (Series edited by, Editor); K. Wayne Yang (Series edited by, Editor)
Call Number: LC 3715 I458 2019

ISBN: 9781138585867

Publication Date: 2019

Timely and compelling, this book features research, theory, and dynamic foundational readings for educators and educational researchers who are looking for possibilities beyond the limits of liberal democratic schooling.
Learning & Teaching Together: Weaving indigenous Ways of Knowing into Education by Michele T. D. Tanaka
Call Number: E 96.2 T35 2016

ISBN: 9780774829519

Publication Date: 2016

Across Canada, teachers unfamiliar with Aboriginal approaches to learning are seeking ways to respectfully weave Aboriginal content into their lessons. This book introduces an Indigenous approach to education.
Truth and Reconciliation Through Education: Stories of Decolonizing Practices by Yvonne Poitras Pratt (Editor), Sulyn Bodnaresko (Editor)
Call Number: LC 196.5 C2 T78 2023

ISBN: 9781550599336

Publication Date: 2023

This is a resource written by educators for educators wishing to embark on their own journeys of truth and reconciliation. Join the reconciliatory education community in courageously teaching, learning, and acting, just as the educators in this collected volume do.
Indigenous Schooling in the Modern World: Education, Knowledge and Liberation for All Citizens by Neil Hooley; Oksana Razoumova; Lois Peeler
Call Number: Internet Access

ISBN: 9789004505421

Publication Date: 2021

This book supports the formal education of all Indigenous children who live in different circumstances in different countries. It takes Indigenous philosophy as its starting point, while recognizing that in many colonial and post-colonial circumstances, Indigenous knowledge, culture and language may not be valued.