NWP Learning Commons: Indigenous Studies: Databases

Best Bets

Apani Blackfoot Digital Library (University of Lethbridge)
Provides a central space for field notes, photographs, images of Blackfoot objects, and recordings that have spread around the world.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Covers all aspects of the culture, history and life of native North Americans.
Can-Core Academic Video
CAN-CORE Post-Secondary has been designed for Canadian faculty, university and college students. It's like no other streaming platform. 100% Canadian-produced content. Thousands of segments & full programs.

First Nations Data Centre (FNIGC)
"The purpose of the FNDC is to promote the appropriate use and dissemination of FNIGC’s First Nations data for First Nations people and organizations, researchers, students, policy makers, and the general public."

Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary source materials providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
Access to the Gale Primary Sources materials offered free to all Albertans through IP geolocation. Outside of Alberta this resource is restricted to subscribers.
Indigenous Relations (Government of Alberta)
Alberta Government website about the various aboriginal groups which populate the province.
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool (University of Saskatchewan)
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
National Aboriginal Document Database
The information found here can be used for research projects such as documenting land claims, or for studying independent Statutes and Acts, Treaties and Court Decisions.
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Reports
All Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada reports gathered in one place.

Other Databases (Scholarly and Popular Sources)

CORE: The Open Access Repository for the Humanities
"CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the humanities."--MLA
Canadian Encyclopedia
"The Encyclopedia contains more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video."
Grant Connect (Imagine Canada)
*ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY*
Grant Connect is a fundraising platform that connects charities with funders who share their cause. Find new prospects by searching comprehensive data managed by our expert research team. Includes access to over 11,400 Canadian foundations.
Héritage (Open Access)
Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994 (Gale)
"[T]he iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and more – making it an essential resource for educators and students as well as general readers."--Gale
NFB - National Film Board of Canada
Freely available short and feature-length films.
Statistics Canada
Canadian statistics covering a wide range of topics.