While you should still always check your writing yourself, grammar check software is one tool that can help you catch errors in your writing. Here are some options:
A free downloadable grammar and style checking software. There is also a paid version.
An entirely online grammar/style checker and paraphrasing tool. You can copy paste your work into the box to check it!
Please note that the grammar checkers above have extensively integrated generative AI into their offerings. Be aware about how you choose to use these programs. Using them to check that individual words are spelled correctly and check for punctuation errors are generally accepted and even encouraged by instructors. However, you should think critically when using these services to rephrase large portions of your work. The more you use these and similar programs to rephrase your work, the more likely your work will sound AI generated.
Regardless of which citation style you use, the APA Style Blog's webpage on Grammar Tips has useful information for most forms of writing, including tips on active and passive voice, plural nouns, and verb tense.
Use these tricks to avoid some common spelling mistakes in your paper.
Some examples and explanations of ways to properly use "however" in your own writing!
Did you know the difference between to say and to tell? Take a look at this quick guide to learn!
Does that sentence sound off? Can it have multiple meanings? Learn to create clear and concise sentences with this guide.
From University College Toronto.
Ever wonder what was meant by the instruction "use third person"? Look at this PDF to find out!
Knowing the parts of speech can be a huge benefit! Understanding the logic behind English grammar can help you create stronger sentences. See the guide for more!
Do you know the difference? Be a more active writer in your paper and stand out from the crowd!
Its and it's. Do you know what the difference is? This PDF will help make sense of when and why the apostrophe is used.
A must for even the most advanced writer. Make sure you are writing complete, concise sentences with this PDF.
Use this PDF to help you choose the best word or phrase for your transitional sentence
Below is a list of some of the books on grammar available in the NWP Learning Commons.
Click the "i" icon for a description of the book, and click the title to find the call number (the identifier to help you find the book on the shelf).
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students
by
Grappling with grammar? Struggling with punctuation? Whether you′re writing an essay or assignment, report or dissertation, this useful guide shows you how to improve the quality of your work at university - fast - by identifying and using the correct use of English grammar and punctuation in your academic writing. Using tried and tested advice from student workshops, Alex Osmond shares practical examples that illustrate common mistakes, and shows you how to avoid them. You'll also discover guidance on: Writing structure - the what and how of crafting sentences and paragraphs Conciseness - how to express your point succinctly and clearly, showing you understand the topic Effective proofreading - the importance of the final 'tidy up', so your work is ready to hand in Referencing - common systems, and how to reference consistently (and avoid plagiarism). This new edition also includes separate chapters on critical thinking and referencing, exploring each topic in more detail, and learning outcomes in every chapter, so you can identify what new skills you'll take away. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
My Grammar and I or Should That Be Me?
by
For anyone who has ever had a problem with dangling modifiers and split infinitives, or for those who have no idea what these things even are, My Grammar and I provides all the answers. While taking you on a tour of the English language, through a veritable minefield of rules and conditions for the grammatically unaware, and highlighting the common pitfalls that every English language user faces on a day to day basis, My Grammar and I also offers amusing examples of awful grammar, and will steer you in the direction of grammatical greatness. Factual and witty, My Grammar and I is the perfect gift for all English language sticklers.
Stellar English
by
An indispensable guide to essential principles of English grammar and usage. Stellar English lays out the fundamentals of effective writing, from word choice and punctuation to parts of speech and common errors. Frank Cioffi emphasizes how formal written English--though only a subdialect of the language--enables writers to reach a wide and heterogenous audience. Cioffi's many example sentences illustrating grammatical principles tilt in an otherworldly direction, making up a science fiction story involving alien invasion. Reading the book through will not only help you with your grammar but also reveal how the story ends! An invaluable brief handbook for native and nonnative speakers alike, Stellar English avoids the jargon and emphasis on outdated rules found in typical grammar guides and shows how good writing uses carefully constructed language that's at once appropriate to an audience and communicates--without distractions or confusion--just what the writer wants.
The Student's Guide to Writing
by
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay. This third edition includes an expanded 'Spot the Mistake' section.
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
by
The bestselling workbook and grammar guide, revised and updated! Hailed as one of the best books around for teaching grammar, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation includes easy-to-understand rules, abundant examples, dozens of reproducible quizzes, and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to middle and high schoolers, college students, ESL students, homeschoolers, and more. This concise, entertaining workbook makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated 12th edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar, and includes answers to all reproducible quizzes to facilitate self-assessment and learning. Clear and concise, with easy-to-follow explanations, offering "just the facts" on English grammar, punctuation, and usage Fully updated to reflect the latest rules, along with even more quizzes and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
Eats, Shoots & Leaves
by
We all know the basics of punctuation. Or do we? A look at most neighborhood signage tells a different story. Through sloppy usage and low standards on the internet, in email, and now text messages, we have made proper punctuation an endangered species. In Eats, Shoots & Leaves, former editor Lynne Truss dares to say, in her delightfully urbane, witty, and very English way, that it is time to look at our commas and semicolons and see them as the wonderful and necessary things they are. This is a book for people who love punctuation and get upset when it is mishandled. From the invention of the question mark in the time of Charlemagne to George Orwell shunning the semicolon, this lively history makes a powerful case for the preservation of a system of printing conventions that is much too subtle to be mucked about with.
Grammar Girl Presents the Ultimate Writing Guide for Students
by
Named to the International Reading Association's 2012 Teachers' Choice book list Grammar Girl Presents the Ultimate Writing Guide for Students is a complete and comprehensive guide to all things grammar from Grammar Girl, a.k.a. Mignon Fogarty, whose popular podcasts have been downloaded over twenty million times and whose first book,Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing, was aNew York Times bestseller. For beginners to more advanced students, this guide covers it all: the parts of speech, sentences, and punctuation are all explained clearly and concisely with the warmth, wit, and accessibility Grammar Girl is known for. Pop quizzes are scattered throughout to reinforce the explanations, as well as Grammar Girl's trademark Quick and Dirty Tips--easy and fun memory tricks to help with those challenging rules. Complete with a writing style chapter and a guide to the different kinds of writing--everything from school papers to letter writing to e-mails--this guide is sure to become the one-stop, essential book on every student's desk.
English Grammar Demystified
by
Decode the mystery of English grammar to add polish to your papers, emails, business letters, and more English Grammar Demystified teaches the fundamentals of the subject in an easy, step-by-step approach thatallows you to learn at your own pace. With help from this book, you will understand the parts of speech, learn to use punctuation correctly, master verb tenses, spot and avoid common grammatical errors, and improve your overall sentence structures. Throughout the book you can monitor your progress throughself-tests, and a comprehensive final exam at the end ofthe book gives you instant feedback on new language skills.
English Grammar in Review
by
After years of teaching high school English, Tom Fasano has written a book that thoroughly explains the traditional model of English grammar - the one most often taught in public schools. Hundreds of detailed concepts, scores of exercises, and thousands of enlightening examples of usage show how to avoid common grammatical mistakes and improve your writing. This book is the next best thing to having your own English teacher next door.
Improve Your Grammar
by
Packed with clear guidance on the nuts and bolts of grammar and plenty of examples, this text will help students master the fundamentals of English grammar and tackle written assignments with confidence. 60+ bite-sized units help students overcome common areas of difficulty, such as forming different tenses, using connectives to link ideas and build an argument, punctuating sentences and choosing the right words. Each unit is presented on a double-page spread, making it easy for students to flick through the book and quickly find the unit they need. Short, focused exercises at the end of each unit - with answers provided at the back of the book - make this text ideal for both self-study and classroom use. This third edition contains four new units on hedging, being critical and collocation. Improve Your Grammar is an essential resource for students of all disciplines and levels wanting to excel at writing, and can be used as a self-study workbook or on tutor-led grammar modules.
For more support with grammar, you can book an appointment with our Writing Support Specialist who can work with you to better understand grammar concepts.
This guide was created/compiled by Amanda Wills and last updated by Teevin Fournier in 2025. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons BY NC SA 4.0 International License.