We have a Learning Commons on both the Grande Prairie and Fairview campuses, offering a wide range of materials and services for you and your students.
Your Staff ID card is also your Learning Commons Card.
All article links need to be "authenticated" for off-campus access. Use this form if your article DOES NOT have the following prefix: https://ezproxy.agpc.talonline.ca/login?url=
Permanent Links or permalinks in the EBSCO databases are already configured for you.
Complete the Reserve Request Form.
Bring the completed form and books, articles, DVDs to the Service Desk.
Items will normally be available within a week of submission.
We created Learning Commons Guides -- or Research Starters -- which are intended to be a portal or starting point for researching a specific subject/discipline, or for a course/assignment. Research Starters are available for a variety of subjects and we welcome your input in further developing the guides.
You can also embed Learning Commons Guides into your myClass courses! Here is a short video that demonstrates how:
We are proud to have a large collection of material for you in our two campus libraries. Our OneSearch service allows you to search for books and articles at the same time and is available on our Learning Commons Homepage.
Help us build our collection!
The NWP Librarians (Amanda Wills and Jacob Fehr) work collaboratively with faculty to develop the Learning Commons collection in your subject area. We welcome and encourage faculty to be involved in helping us build a strong collection.
Feel free to suggest a purchase in any of the following ways:
Members of the NWP Learning Commons have access to the collections of 20 Alberta Libraries via the NEOS Library Consortium. That's over 6 million items! There are two ways to search the collection.
NEOS Search
Offers browsable searching and direct access to your library account, reserve materials, and Fairview holdings.
TAL (The Alberta Library) is a provincial consortium that facilitates the sharing of resources across Alberta. You can search the collections of Alberta Libraries through TAL Online and place requests for items using your NWP Learning Commons card!
Visiting another city and want to borrow a book? Come and see us and we can issue you a TAL Card so you can borrow items from other libraries when you visit in-person!
Any Learning Commons librarian is available to facilitate library instruction sessions for different subject areas. Whether it is for your first year class or a refresher for experienced students, we can tailor the session to meet your needs. Topics include (but are not limited to):
We also strive to incorporate course assignments and hands-on learning activities into the sessions to make learning more relevant to your students. Click on the link below to get started!
Your Learning Commons card is your staff ID card. If you are a new faculty member, please visit our Public Service Desk so we can add your record!
| Item | Loan period | Renewals | Fines |
|---|---|---|---|
| Book (NWP) | Term loan | 5 | |
| All NEOS items | 2 weeks | 2 | $1.00/day |
| DVDS |
1 week (GP) In library only (Fairview) |
2 | |
| Curriculum | 1 week | 2 | |
| Journals & magazines |
In-library only (GP) 1 week (Fairview) |
||
| Cameras | 3 day | ||
| Reference books | By special arrangement |
Looking for books or articles that aren't in our collection or in NEOS? Use our Interlibrary Loan service. This speedy service often delivers your requested articles within hours!
