Learning Portal - Faculty Toolkit: Information Literacy Sessions

Learning Commons Orientation (in-class) 

• 10-15 minutes
• Intended audience: first years, new transfers
• Covers basics of using the Learning Commons including accessing online material, checking out materials, scheduling and attending appointments, and hours of use

Customized Research

• 45-60 minutes
• Intended audience: students in designated courses
• Covers research skills pertaining to a specific course or course assignment, including searching subject-specific databases, looking for particular types of information (legal, governmental, primary, etc.) and identifying sources that fall within the scope of assignment or class (peer review, primary research, etc.)

Learning Commons Instruction Plan 

Learning Commons Orientation and Tour 

• 25-30 minutes
• Class meets the Librarian in the Learning Commons space for a tour
• Intended audience: first years, new transfers
• Covers basics of using the Learning Commons including finding materials, checking out materials, using online catalogue, scheduling and attending appointments, and hours of use

Writing and Citation 

• 30-45 minutes
• Intended audience: first years 
• Covers basic writing and citation techniques including how to write academically, how to incorporate quotes, how to cite paraphrased information, and how to format source lists

Basic Research 

• 45-60 minutes
• Intended audience: first years
• Covers basics of research including creating a research question, identifying keywords, search operators (Boolean, truncation, etc.), searching using Discover Layer and databases, peer-review and evaluating sources

Course-Related Instruction

• Varied lengths
• Intended audience: students in designated courses
• Covers special topics requested by instructors. Past examples of course-related instruction include creating infographics, research translation, and open-source video and audio editing software