NWP Learning Commons: Nursing Resources: Databases

Best Bets (Peer-Reviewed and Scholarly Sources)

Best Bets (Peer-Reviewed and Scholarly Sources)

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research tool for nursing and allied health professionals
e-CPS / CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
Comprises:
- CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties)
- CTC (Compendium of Therapeutic Choices)
- CTMA (Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments)
- CPMA (Compendium of Products for Minor Ailments)
- Lexi-Interact Calculator
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Designed for both nursing and allied health students
NOTE: Limit to current date and before. Covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more
Psychotherapy.net Mental Health Videos (Psychotherapy.net) This link opens in a new window
Video lectures on mental health
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Academic literature from life sciences journals and books
ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences Collection (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text peer-reviewed health journals

Other Nursing Resources (Scholarly and Popular Sources)

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary, holistic, integrated approaches to health
Books@Ovid: LWW Nursing Books Collection (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing books. (If Login page comes up, choose the OpenAthens | Institutional link below the login box and search for Northwestern Polytechnic)
Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive (University of South Hampton) This link opens in a new window
Psychology, computer science, medicine, psychiatry papers
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Health information intended for a general audience
Health Videos & Tools (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Videos with animated graphics about diagnoses and diseases
Killing Us Softly 4: Advertising's Image of Women (Kanopy) This link opens in a new window
Video: Jean Kilbourne takes a fresh look at how advertising traffics in distorted and destructive ideals of femininity.
medRxiv (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory) This link opens in a new window
Complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences
Native Health Database This link opens in a new window
Information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
Okanagan Charter: An International Charter for Health Promoting Universities & Colleges This link opens in a new window
Proceedings from the 7th International Conference on Health Promoting Universities and Colleges
PsycINFO - APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychological, social, behavioural, and health science information
Public Health Infobase (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
A selection of easy to use tools for accessing and viewing public health data.