The Notes and Bibliography style is the original and more commonly used form of Chicago. It is a popular citation style in several disciplines in the humanities, usually history (including art history) and music. Its defining features include:
The footnotes/endnotes generally contain a full set of publication information the first time a source is cited, then become shortened once a source has been referenced multiple times. The bibliography at the end of the paper (titled "Bibliography") lists all sources cited in the paper in alphabetical order and contains the full publication information.
The tabs above contain examples, templates, and brief explanations of the proper use of the Notes and Bibliography style for different source types. More information can be found:
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition by Note that the heading on this page says "Bibliography," centered on the page and in normal font.
Photo: Chicago Bibliography Sample from Lumen Learning (n.d.). Retrieved April 19, 2021, from https://courses.lumenlearning.com/boundless-writing/chapter/chicagoturabian-citations-and-references-notes-and-bibliography-nb-system/
The video below is from:
Excel, Word, and PowerPoint Tutorials from Howtech. How to Insert Footnote in Word. YouTube, May 5, 2013. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9_dw_CxG6w.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Full Note:
First name Last name and First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title volume #, no. issue # (year): page #. doi.
Shortened Note:
Last name and Last name, "Shortened Article Title," page #.
Bibliography Entry:
Last name, First name, and First name Last name. “Article Title.” Journal Title volume #, no. issue # (year): first page # – last page #. doi.
Full Note:
Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, "Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network," American Journal of Sociology 115, no. 2 (2009): 407. doi:10.1086/599247.
Shortened Note:
Kossinets and Watts, "Origins of Homophily," 409.
Bibliography Entry:
Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. "Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network." American Journal of Sociology 115, no. 2 (2009): 405-50. doi:10.1086/599247.
Full Note:
Frank P. Whitney, “The Six-Year High School in Cleveland,” School Review 37, no. 4 (1929): 268. Accessed September 13, 2021. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1076243.
Shortened Note:
Whitney, "The Six-Year High School," 272.
Bibliography Entry:
Whitney, Frank P. “The Six – Year High School in Cleveland.” School Review 37, no. 4 (1929): 267-71. Accessed September 13, 2021. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1076243.
*Note: the inclusion of access dates is optional, and usually recommended only when there is no other date provided for a source.
If your source has three to six authors, in the notes, mention only the first listed author followed by "et al." (which means "and others"). In the bibliography, list all of the authors' names.
Full Note:
6. Arkadiusz Frohlich et al., "Public Safety Consideration Constraint the Conservation of Large Old Trees and Their Crucial Ecological Heritage in Urban Green Spaces," Science of the Total Environment 948 (2024): 1-12 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2024.174919
Shortened Note:
Frohlich et al., "Public Safety Considerations," 58.
Bibliography Entry:
Frohlich, Arkadiusz, Fabian Przepiora, Szymon Drobinak, Grzegorz Mikusinski, Mical Ciach. "Public Safety Considerations Constraint the Conservation of Large Old Trees and Their Crucial Ecological Heritage in Urban Green Spaces." Science of the Total Environment 948 (2024): 1-12 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2024.174919
If your source has more than six authors, follow the rules above for the notes (only mentioned the first author), but in the bibliography, list the first three followed by "et al." in the bibliography.
Full Note:
Sonia S. Anand et al., "Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts and Minds: First Nations Cohort Study Rationale and Design," Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education, and Action 12, no. 1 (2018): 55-64. doi:10.1353/cpr.2018.0006.
Shortened Note:
Anand et al., "Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts," 61.
Bibliography Entry:
Anand, Sonia S., Sylvia Abonyi, Laura Arbour, et al. "Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts and Minds: First Nations Cohort Study Rationale and Design." Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education, and Action 12, no. 1 (2018): 55-64. doi:10.1353/cpr.2018.0006.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Full Note:
First name Last name and First name Last name, Book Title #th ed. (Publisher, Year), page # - page #.
Shortened Note:
Last name and Last name, Shortened Book Title, page #.
Bibliography Entry:
Last name, First name, and First name Last name. Book Title #th ed. Publisher, year.
Full Note:
Fred Lerner, The Story of Libraries: From the Invention of Writing to the Computer Age, 2nd ed. (Continuum, 2009), 12-13.
Shortened Note:
Lerner, The Story of Libraries, 15.
Bibliography Entry:
Lerner, Fred. The Story of Libraries: From the Invention of Writing to the Computer Age, 2nd ed. Continuum, 2009.
Include "ed." or "eds." after the name(s) of listed editor(s) in the author position.
Full Note:
Sue-Ellen Jacobs, Wesley Thomas, and Sabine Lang, eds., Two-Spirit People: Native American Gender Identity, Sexuality, and Spirituality (University of Illinois Press 1997), 35.
Shortened Note:
Jacobs, Thomas, and Lang, Two-Spirit People, 46-47.
Bibliography Entry:
Jacobs, Sue-Ellen, Wesley Thomas, and Sabine Lang, eds. Two-Spirit People: Native American Gender Identity, Sexuality, and Spirituality. University of Illinois Press, 1997.
Include only the first listed author with "et al." in all notes. In the bibliography, list up to six names followed by "et al.," of there are more than six authors.
Full Note:
Jeri A. Sechzer et al., Women and Mental Health (John Hopkins University Press, 1996), 7-12.
Shortened Note:
Sechzer et al., Women and Mental Health, 20.
Bibliography Entry:
Sechzer, Jeri A., Sheila M. Pfafflin, Florence L. Denmark, Anna Griffin, and Susan J. Blumenthal. Women and Mental Health. John Hopkins University Press, 1996.
If the text has no author, but does have a contributor (editor(s), compiler(s), or translator(s)) listed contributor(s) take the place of the author followed by the appropriate abbreviation ("ed." or "eds.", "comp." or "comps", or "trans.").
***Note: the abbreviation for editor, compiler or translator are not included in shortened notes.
Full Note:
Andrea Sullivan-Clarke, ed., Ways of Being in the World: An Introduction to Indigenous Philosophies of Turtle Island, (Broadview Press. 2023), 16.
Shortened Note:
Sullivan-Clarke, Ways of Being, 125.
Bibliography Entry:
Sullivan-Clarke, Andrea, ed. Ways of Being in the World: An Introduction to Indigenous Philosophies of Turtle Island. Broadview Press, 2023.
If a book has no author and no contributor, use the title in the author position.
Full Note:
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610), 4.
Shortened Note:
A True and Sincere Declaration, 14.
Bibliography Entry:
A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.
List the chapter author and chapter title first, followed by the full book title and the editor of the book.
Full Note:
Elizabeth F. L. Ellet, "By Rail and Stage to Galena," In Prairie State: Impressions of Illinois, 1673-1967, by Travelers and Other Observers, ed. Paul M. Angle, (University of Chicago Press, 1968), 272-73.
Shortened Note:
Ellet, "By Rail and Stage," 276.
Bibliography Entry:
Ellet, Elizabeth F. L. "By Rail and Stage to Galena." In Prairie State: Impressions of Illinois, 1673-1967, by Travelers and Other Observers, edited by Paul M. Angle. University of Chicago Press, 1968.
Full Note:
Herman Melville, Moby-Dick; or, The Whale (Harper & Brothers, 1851), 627, http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.
Shortened Note:
Melville, Moby Dick, 629-30.
Bibliography Entry:
Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. Harper & Brothers, 1851. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). If the same source is cited two or more times in a row on one page, you can use "Ibid." in place of the author and title information. Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Full Note:
First name Last name or Corporation Name, "Webpage Title," Website Title, last modified or accessed date, http://www.URL.com.
Shortened Note:
Last name or Corporation Name, "Shortened Webpage Title."
Bibliography Entry:
Last name, First name or Corporation Name. "Webpage Title." Website Title. Last modified or accessed date, http://www.URL.com.
Full Note:
Google, "Privacy Policy," Privacy and Terms, last modified March 31, 2014, http://www.google.ca/policies/privacy/.
Shortened Note:
Google, "Privacy Policy."
Bibliography Entry:
Google. "Privacy Policy." Privacy and Terms. Last modified March 31, 2014, http://www.google.ca/policies/privacy/.
Full Note:
Alexander Roberts and James Donaldson, eds., "ANF01. The Apostolic Fathers with Justin Martyr and Irenaeus: Introductory Note to the Epistle of Mathetes to Diognetus," CCEL, Christian Classics Ethereal Library. Accessed April 23, 2011, http://www.ccel.org/ccel/schaff/anf01.iii.i.html.
Shortened Note:
Roberts and Donaldson, "ANF01."
Bibliography Entry:
Roberts, Alexander, and James Donaldson, eds. "ANF01. The Apostolic Fathers with Justin Martyr and Irenaeus: Introductory Note to the Epistle of Mathetes to Diognetus." CCEL, Christian Classics Ethereal Library. Accessed April 23, 2011, http://www.ccel.org/ccel/schaff/anf01.iii.i.html.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). If the same source is cited two or more times in a row on one page, you can use "Ibid." in place of the author and title information. Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Full Note:
First name Last name, role,Title of Work, Directed/Performed by First name Last name (Original Release Year; City: Studio/Distributor, Video release year), Medium.
Shortened Note:
Last name, Shortened Title of Work.
Bibliography Entry:
Last name, First name, role. Title of Work. Format. Directed/Performed by First name Last name. Original Release Year; City: Studio/Distributor, Video release year. Medium.
Full Note:
Alfonso Cuaron, dir., Gravity (2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014), Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.
Shortened Note:
Cuaron, Gravity.
Bibliography Entry:
Cuaron, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.
Full Note:
Friends, "The One with the Princess Leia Fantasy," season 3, episode 1. Directed by Gail Mancuso, aired September 19, 1996. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video.
Shortened Note:
Friends, "The One with the Princess Leia Fantasy."
Bibliography Entry:
Friends. "The One with the Princess Leia Fantasy." Season 3, episode 1. Directed by Gail Mancuso. Aired September 19, 1996. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video.
Full Note:
John Harwood, "The Pros and Cons of Biden," New York Times video, 2:00. August 23, 2008, http://www.nytimes.com/video/us/politics/1194817091987/the-pros-and-cons-of-biden.html?module=Search&mabReward=relbias%3Aw.
Shortened Note:
Harwood, "The Pros and Cons."
Bibliography Entry:
Harwood, John. "The Pros and Cons of Biden." New York Times video, 2:00. August 23, 2008. http://www.nytimes.com/video/us/politics/1194817091987/the-pros-and-cons-of-biden.html?module=Search&mabReward=relbias%3Aw.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). If the same source is cited two or more times in a row on one page, you can use "Ibid." in place of the author and title information. Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Full Note:
First name Last name, "Recording Title," Date of Recording, Format, Length. Source of Recording. URL.
Shortened Note:
Last name, "Shortened Title."
Bibliography Entry:
Truman, Harry S. "First Speech to Congress." April 16, 1945. Transcript and Adobe Flash audio, 18:13. Miller Centre of Public Affairs: University of Virginia. http://millercenter.org/scripps/archive/speeches/detail/3339.
Full Note:
Harry S Truman, "First Speech to Congress," April 16, 1945, Transcript and Adobe Flash audio, 18:13. Miller Centre of Public Affairs: University of Virginia. http://millercenter.org/scripps/archive/speeches/detail/3339.
Shortened Note:
Truman, "First Speech to Congress."
Bibliography Entry:
Truman, Harry S. "First Speech to Congress." April 16, 1945. Transcript and Adobe Flash audio, 18:13. Miller Centre of Public Affairs: University of Virginia. http://millercenter.org/scripps/archive/speeches/detail/3339.
Full Note:
The Tragically Hip, “Ahead by a Century,” recorded April 1996, track 3 on Trouble at the Henhouse, MCA, Compact Disc.
Shortened Note:
The Tragically Hip, "Ahead by a Century."
Bibliography Entry:
The Tragically Hip. “Ahead by a Century.” Recorded April 1996, track 3 on Trouble at the Henhouse, MCA, Compact Disc.
Full Note:
Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc. Originally released in 1970.
Shortened Note:
Pink Floyd, Atom Heart Mother.
Bibliography Entry:
Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc. Originally released in 1970.
For Notes and Bibliography style, use the "Full Note" format the first time a source is cited in-text, and the "Shortened Note" format for subsequent in-text citations (updating page numbers when necessary). If the same source is cited two or more times in a row on one page, you can use "Ibid." in place of the author and title information. Use the formats for "Bibliography Entry" in the bibliography.
Note: the URL is only needed for online articles.
Full Note:
First name Last name, "Title of Article," Magazine/Newspaper Name, Published Date, http://www.URL.com.
Shortened Note:
Last name, "Shortened Title of Article."
Bibliography Entry:
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Magazine/Newspaper Name. Published Date. http://www.URL.com.
Full Note:
Michael Frank, "La Concha Revival: San Juan's Tropical Modernist Gem Makes a Comeback," Architectural Digest, August 2009, 103.
Shortened Note:
Frank, "La Concha Revival," 104.
Bibliography Entry:
Frank, Michael. "La Concha Revival: San Juan's Tropical Modernist Gem Makes a Comeback." Architectural Digest. August 2009. 103-4.
Full Note:
Coco Masters, "The Takeaway Diet of 2006," Time, December 17, 2006. http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1570794,00.html.
Shortened Note:
Masters, "The Takeaway Diet."
Bibliography Entry:
Masters, Coco. "The Takeaway Diet of 2006." Time December 17, 2006.
http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1570794,00.html.
Full Note:
Pat Borzi, "Retirement Discussion Begins Anew for Favre," New York Times, January 25, 2010, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/26/sports/football/26vikings.html?emc=etal.
Shortened Note:
Borzi, "Retirement Discussion."
Bibliography Entry:
Borzi, Pat. "Retirement Discussion Begins Anew for Favre." New York Times, January 25, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/26/sports/football/26vikings.html?emc=etal.
If you are citing an Indigenous Elder or other Indigenous Knowledge Keeper, there are key elements to add to a footnote/endnote and bibliography that acknowledge the authority of Traditional Knowledge and Oral Traditions. These elements include:
Nation or community the Elder or Knowledge Keeper belongs to
Brief description of the information or teaching they have shared
Date the information was shared with you
Treaty territory and city of residence may also be included
Ensure that all of these details are confirmed with the Elder or Knowledge Keeper. Some may prefer to be listed under their Traditional Name rather than their legal name, and sometimes they may prefer to be listed only by their Traditional Name. It is also important to ensure that you have permission to share the information in your essay or publication, and to be aware that additional protocols and permissions may be required if you plan to publish the information.
Full Note
First Name Last Name (Traditional Name [if applicable]), nation/community, treaty territory [if applicable], where they live [if applicable], topic/subject of communication [if not mentioned in-text], interview [specify only if not clear from the main text], month, day, year.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name (Traditional Name [if applicable]). Nation/community. Treaty territory [if applicable]. Where they live [if applicable]. Topic/subject of communication. Interview, month, day, year.
***Note: The templates above, provided by CMoS 18, are adapted from the article “More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers” by Lorisia MacLeod (doi.org/10.18357/kula.135). You can also watch MacLeod's webinar on YouTube where she discusses these elements in more detail and highlights their importance.
For more on Citing Indigenous Sources, see sections 14.136 & 14.137 in The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition, pages 919-20.
Images should be cited in a caption below the image itself. Label it with "Figure #" or "Fig. #"
Remember to cite the source you are using. If you are looking at the image in a book, cite that book. If you are looking at the original work, cite the original work.
Fig. 1. Artist first and last name, Title of work. Year of original art, Medium (e.g. Oil on canvas, drawing, sculpture, photograph, etc.), Measurements (e.g. 18.5 x 12 cm). Location of original museum, province, country. Available from: Database name, www.URL.com (accessed month day, year).
Figure 1. Author first and last name, Title of work. Year of original work, medium, dimensions. From: Author of book, Title of book. City: Publisher, year. Page or plate number.
Fig. 1. Cuthbert Brodrick, Plan of Leeds town hall. 1852-58, drawing. Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. Available from: ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org (Accessed October 14, 2015).
Fig. 1. Kostyantyn Steblovskyy. Swanlike End. 2015, Digital Image. Available from: National Geographic. http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-of-the-day/swan-lake-bled/ (Accessed October 14, 2015).
Fig. 1. Pierre-Auguste Renoir. Young girl and a cow at Saint-Briac. From Judy Le Paul Gaugin and the Impressionists at Pont-Aven. New York: Abbevill Press. 1987. Page 137.
Note: for books you will put the year of the book not the date the art was created or copyrighted so the reader can find the source that you used.
Found a great image on Facebook or Twitter? Trace the image back to its original website and cite it as a web page. Using a profile picture or mobile upload? Make a note in this format:
Grande Prairie Regional College Library photos. Facebook. Accessed October 14, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/gprclibrary/
Creative commons image citations look different because they are copyrighted differently. By indicating the CC info (e.g. CC BY 2.0) the reader is able to know if the image can be shared, modified, and/or sold. For example, CC BY 2.0 means that anyone is able to share and adapt the image for personal or commercial use so long as the original author has been credited and any changes have been noted. The original author is not able to change these rights as long as these rules have been followed.
Template:
“Title of work” by Author or screen name is licensed under CC info.
Example:
“Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco” by tvol is licensed under CC BY 2.0. https://www.flickr.com/photos/sixteenmilesofstring/8256206923/in/set-72157632200936657
Information regarding Creative Commons citing found here:
“Best practices for attribution.” Creative Commons Wiki. Last modified March 4, 2014. https://wiki.creativecommons.org/wiki/Best_practices_for_attribution
If an image was created by or with the help of artificial intelligence (AI), that fact should be noted (as per Section 3.38 of CMOS 18).
Example
Fig. 4. Image generated by DALL-E 2, April 7, 2023, from the prompt "An ornate bookshelf with a portal into another dimension."
CMOS 18 encourages the use of shortened notes over "Ibid." (see section 13.37, page 791-3). The term "Ibid." is an abbreviation of the Latin word ibidem, which means "the same place," and is used in place of the author and title information when a source is cited two or more times in a row on the same page in-text. The page number will still be updated to reflect where the information can be found in the source text.
**Note: "Ibid." can only refer to the source cited directly above it as it essentially means "see above."
Example
Full Note:
Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945 (Knopf, 2007), 52.
Shortened Note:
Ward and Burns, The War, 59.
If twice or more in a row on one page:
Ibid., 67.
For quotes that span more than a paraagraph, format your quotation as follows:
Create a freestanding block, separated from the paragraph with the quote starting on a new line, and indent all lines of the paragraph about a half inch (1.27cm) from the left margin. Do not use quotation marks, unless there is a quote within your quote. Unless the paragraph ends following the quote, continue the paragraph with no indentation.
The in-text citation for a block quote is included in a footnote, no different from any other in-text citation in the Notes and Bibliography style, as shown below:
Note that, although many Chicago papers use single-spaced block quotations, page 73 (section 2.23) of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition states that "Prose extracts should have the same line spacing as the surrounding text." Check with your instructor to be sure about spacing requirements on assignments.