*Please note that these apps have not been tested by NWP Learning Commons staff members.
Alberta Health Services
iOS | Android
"The AHS app keeps you in touch with the health resources and information you need no matter where you are. Get quick access to information about emerging and important health topics. Check real-time wait times for emergency departments and urgent care centres in Calgary, Edmonton, Grande Prairie, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, and Red Deer. Find and bookmark healthcare locations, programs, and services."
"Bugs & Drugs is a comprehensive, evidence-based reference for physicians, dentists, pharmacists, nurse practitioners and other health care practitioners. This reference can optimize patient outcomes and minimize the unintended consequences of antimicrobial use, including toxicity, superinfections, resistance, and unnecessary treatment costs."
Merck Manual (Professional)
iOS | Android
"This useful medical reference app provides health care practitioners and students with clear, practical explanations for thousands of conditions in all major medical and surgical specialties. Covers etiology, pathophysiology, and options for evaluation and treatment."
Medical Dictionary by Farlex
iOS | Android
"Medical Dictionary by Farlex gives you free, instant access to 180,000+ definitions of medical terminology and more than 12,000 images from sources trusted by doctors and healthcare professionals, including McGraw-Hill, Houghton Mifflin, and more."
Anatomy Learning - 3D Anatomy
iOS | Android
"Explore, dissect and learn with Anatomy Learning app for studying human anatomy. Includes bones, ligaments, muscles, circulation (arteries, vein and heart), digestive, urinary, and more."
Daily Anatomy Flashcards
iOS | Android
"Daily Anatomy Flashcards teaches healthcare students the 500 most important anatomical structures in a beginner-friendly format. The perfect entry into the world of anatomy!"
Teach Me Anatomy
iOS | Android
"Teach Me Anatomy provides students, doctors, and health professionals with the world’s most comprehensive anatomy learning platform. Includes integrated textbook, 3D anatomy models and a bank of over 1700 quiz questions."
Teach Me Physiology
iOS | Android
"Teach Me Physiology provides students, doctors, and health professionals with a comprehensive and concise overview of key physiological concepts. Includes integrated textbook, full-colour HD illustrations, and a bank of almost 1000 multiple-choice questions."
Kahoot!
"Play engaging quiz-based games at school, at home and at work, create your own kahoots and learn something new! Kahoot! brings the magic of learning for students, teachers, office superheroes, trivia fans and lifelong learners."
Quizlet
"Create flashcards or find one to study from over 500 million sets created by teachers and students. Memorize vocabulary, get familiar with key concepts from your course, and drill practice problems before test day."
My Study Life - School Planner
"My Study Life allows you to store your classes, homework and exams in the cloud making it available on any device, wherever you are. It integrates all areas of your academic life - see homework due and overdue for classes, classes which conflict with your exams and even add revision tasks for a specific exam."
Read&Write
"Boost confidence and attainment for students who struggle with reading and writing. Read&Write is an easy to use alternative keyboard with integrated features to help you with writing content such as emails, social media, or interacting with online forms etc. Great for anyone who needs a little support with their reading and writing." *Downloads also available for desktop, Chrome, and Edge*
