To use any of the Learning Commons' electronic materials or resources or to place holds and access your account, you must first sign in with your Student Email and Password.
To request an interlibrary loan you must use your User ID and PIN. These can be found on the back of your ID card or under "My Info" on the NWP App. If you are signed in, these should auto-populate for you.
Search for books, ebooks and videos in our Learning Commons, other libraries in Alberta, and worldwide.
Tip: In your search use words like:
Browse the stacks and find books related to your subject area.
| HD | Industries. Land use. Labor. |
| HV | Protection of animals. Animal rights. Animal welfare. |
| S | Agriculture (General). |
| SB | Plant Culture. |
| SF | Animal Culture. |
| SH | Aquaculture/Fisheries. |
| TD | Sanitary Engineering (includes Rural and farm sanitary engineering). |
| TS | Manufactures (includes Animal products, Cereals and grains, Animal feeds). |
The Good Farmer: Culture and Identity in Food and Agriculture
by
Becoming a Young Farmer: Young People's Pathways Into Farming: Canada, China, India and Indonesia
by
Drawing on research that asks how (some) young people continue to pursue a (future) livelihood in farming, the book uses the life-course perspective and privileges voices of young farmers to show that movement away from farming such as time spent in education, migration and non-farm work does not exclude eventual farming futures. The book will be of interest to scholars and students of agrarian studies, anthropology, development studies, gender studies, human geography, rural sociology, and youth studies.
Artificial Intelligence and Internet of Things in Smart Farming
by
Transforming Agricultural Technology by Artificial Intelligence and Robotics
by
Sustainable Agriculture : Adaptation Strategies to Address Climate Change By 2050
by
Soil Sisters : A Tool Kit for Women Farmers
by
Identification Guide for Alberta Invasive Plants (3rd Edition)
by
Introduction to Crop Production
by
Introduction to Crop Production is a brief overview of the processes, principles, and practices associated with crop production.
Precision Farming Guide for Agriculturists (4th Edition)
by
Written for current and aspiring farmers wishing to take advantage of the latest technologies for managing crop production, including yield monitoring systems, remote sensing and geographic information systems. System development and integration, economic considerations and environmental considerations are explored as is the applicability of site-specific farming to individual farmers' needs.
Farm and Ranch Safety Management (5th Edition)
by
Machinery Management (6th Edition)
by
How to select machinery to fit the needs of today's farm managers.
Combine Harvesting (6th Edition)
by
combine harvesting is not simple anymore. You may have learned how to “run” a combine at quite a young age, but the machines themselves keep getting more and more complex, so even operating them is no longer simple. With all of the on-board monitors, computers, and now even satellite guidance systems, operating a modern combine is downright complicated! And it’s not just the many controls, although they make the cab of today’s combines look like the cockpit of a jumbo jet airliner. It’s mastering the many tasks of field operation and skillful adjustments to the machine’s components. This book will teach you in easy steps. You’ll also learn how to make necessary machine adjustments, and how to maintain each component at peak operating performance.
Hay and Forage Harvesting (7th Edition)
by
Discusses purposes & uses of different types of hay & forage equipment. Gives theory of operation for each type of machine using color illustrations. Covers all types - mowers, conditioners, rakes, balers, handling systems, cubers, choppers, blowers, & forage harvesters. Explains new large-package hay-handling systems. Explains proper operation & field adjustments. Shows correct steps in maintenance, storage & troubleshooting. CONTENTS: Harvesting methods, planning of harvest, mowers & conditioners, windrowers, rakes, balers, bale wagons, large rollbalers, loose hay stack wagons, hay cubers, choppers, forage harvesters, forage wagons, forage blowers, field operation & adjustments, selection of equipment, comparing harvesting systems, management of total systems & glossary & tables.
Preventive Maintenance (8th Edition)
by
Covers care of all types of engine-powered equipment - tractors, combines, forage harvesters, & more. Tells why preventive maintenance must be performed & shows step-by-step how to do it. Gives details on daily, weekly, & other maintenance jobs, plus extra chapters on tune-ups, troubleshooting, & storage. Uses colorful diagrams to give theory of operation as an introduction to maintenance. Shows use of basic test equipment needed by the modern operator. CONTENTS: Purpose of maintenance, keeping records, intervals of maintenance, engine intake & exhaust systems, engine fuel systems, engine governing systems, engine lubricating systems, engine cooling systems, engine electrical systems, power trains, hydraulic systems, steering & brakes, cabs & accessories, air conditioning, other components, basic test equipment, tune-up & troubleshooting & storage.
Tillage (4th Edition)
by
Tillage has been defined as those mechanical, soil-stirring actions carried on for the purpose of nurturing crops. Using this book will not only bring you into compliance, but also put money in your pocket by saving you one of your most valuable assets — soil.
Tractors (5th Edition)
by
Operating a tractor (not just driving it) is not simple anymore. You probably learned how to drive a tractor at quite a young age. But the machines themselves keep getting more and more complex, so even operating them is no longer simple. With all of the on-board computers, monitors, and now even satellite guidance systems, operating a modern tractor is downright complicated! And it’s not just the many controls, although they make the cab of today’s tractors look like the cockpit of a jumbo jet airliner. It’s mastering the many tasks of field operation and skillful adjustments to the components, along with adjustments to implements. But proper operation is just part of the solution. If you are not familiar with the new “fat cheeks” lower-than-low tire inflation, how to get the greatest performance from your tractor, how to correctly balance the tractor to prevent excessive wheel slippage or power hop, or how to attach and remove all the new implements, — then you need to learn. This book shows you — with many illustrations — how to operate, maintain, and improve your tractor’s performance. The power hop prevention story and the troubleshooting charts are worth the purchase price alone
Bearings and Seals (7th Edition)
by
Helps students understand bearings & seals & service them with speed & skill. Covers all types. Explains bearing loads, friction, "crush," & other concepts. Explains maintenance of bearings - cleaning, lubrication, adjustment, & repair. Explains use of gaskets, oil seals, sealing rings, & others. Tells how to care for seals, both static & dynamic types. "Test Yourself" questions & answers help participants review important facts.
Belts and Chains (7th Edition)
by
Belts and Chains is a basic guide to the maintenance, installation, and failure of belt and chain drives.
Electronic and Electrical Systems (10th Edition)
by
Electronic and Electrical Systems is the definitive "how-to" book on the electrical systems of off-road vehicles, trucks, buses, and automobiles--from showing you how to diagnose problems and test components to explaining how to repair the system.
Engines (12th Edition)
by
Engines is the definitive “how-to” book on the engines of off-road vehicles, trucks, and buses —from showing you how to diagnose problems and test components to explaining how to repair the system. And it can be used to work on many different kinds of engines, from gasoline to LP-gas to diesel. By starting with the basics, the book builds your knowledge step by step. This book covers how engines work; gives basic engine information, from cylinder heads through clutches; and examines the different kinds of fuel systems, to include the latest electronically controlled fuel systems. It also goes into detail about the different kinds of corollary systems (intake, exhaust, lubrication, cooling, and governing) and their working parts; information on test equipment and service tools; plus a complete diagnosis and testing chapter.
Fuels, Lubricants, Coolants and Filters (10th Edition)
by
Fuels, Lubricants, Coolants and Filters is the definitive “how-to” book when it comes to this subject — from showing you the different types of each; to their characteristics, designations, and additives; to diagnosing system problems and identifying parts failure; to explaining how to repair the systems. And when we say “show you,” we mean just that! Our book is filled with illustrations to clearly demonstrate what must be done — photographs, drawings, pictorial diagrams, troubleshooting charts, and diagnostic charts.
Glossary of Technical Terms: A Complete Dictionary for Agricultural, Industrial, and Compact Equipment Applications (3rd Edition)
by
Hoses, Tubing, and Connectors (3rd Edition)
by
Hoses, Tubing, and Connectors is the definitive "how-to" book when it comes tho this subject - from showing you how to diagnose problems and test for failed parts, to explaining how to repair the part, to showing how to install the repaired or new part.
Hydraulics (8th Edition)
by
Hydraulics - Textbook - A definitive "how-to" book on the hydraulic systems of off-road vehicles, trucks and buses.
Hydraulic Systems Diagnostics (2nd Edition)
by
Hydraulic Systems Diagnostics is the definitive how-to book on diagnosing and testing the hydraulic systems of off-road vehicles, trucks, buses, and automobiles
Identification of Parts Failures (7th Edition)
by
This book contains hundreds of photographs showing failed parts. A brief explanation accompanies each picture and gives reasons why the part might have failed. Recommended actions are given for each failed part. More importantly, the book states how to prevent future failures. Whether your particular service problem involves the engine, transmission, power train, hydraulic or electrical systems, tires or tracks, or many miscellaneous components and parts, this guide will help you quickly isolate the faulty part and get you back up and running. Instructions are written in simple language so they can be easily understood. This book can be used by anyone, from a novice to an experienced mechanic.
