Databases

Many articles and journals are available electronically through the databases: NWP A-Z Databases.

Using databases to search for research materials is quite convenient since there are ways to request very specific articles by using a keyword search and limiting to:

a publication
full-text access
peer reviewed
language

Best Bets (Peer-Reviewed and Scholarly Sources)

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research tool for nursing and allied health professionals
Psychotherapy.net Mental Health Videos (Psychotherapy.net) This link opens in a new window
Video lectures on mental health
ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences Collection (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text peer-reviewed health journals

Other Resources (Scholarly, Popular, and Open Access Sources)

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Health information intended for a general audience
Health Videos & Tools (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Videos with animated graphics about diagnoses and diseases
PsycINFO - APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychological, social, behavioural, and health science information
Public Health Infobase (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
A selection of easy to use tools for accessing and viewing public health data

Journals

Online Journals

Canadian Journal of Emergency Medicine
Published by the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians. Online version of journal, with archived issues back to 1998. Past issues archive is free full-text.
JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services)
Seeks to improve prehospital patient care and promote positive change in EMS by delivering information and education from industry leaders, change makers and emerging voices. JEMS fulfills its commitment to EMS providers, instructors and administrators by providing state-of-the-science, high-quality content.

Paramedic Resources

Learning Commons Login

Databases

Journals

Online Journals