Get the latest information and updates on GPRC’s response to COVID-19
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AR 2810

A Learning Commons guide for students in AR 2810 to help with their research paper

The Starting Point - OneSearch

OneSearch, located on the NWP Learning Commons webpage, is the most comprehensive method of finding resources for research papers. OneSearch allows you to search for...

  • Physical materials at the NWP Learning Commons
  • E-books
  • Academic journal articles available through any of our databases
  • Physical materials located at other NEOS post-secondary institutions (see note below regarding interlibrary loans)

A search bar labelled "OneSearch"

If the options offered by OneSearch become overwhelming, the Learning Commons has other tools available.

Finding Books - NEOS Library Catalogue

If you are specifically looking for books, our NEOS library catalogue may be a good place to check. It allows you to search for...

  • Physical materials owned by the Learning Commons
  • E-books
  • Books owned by other members of NEOS that we can bring in for you (see note below regarding interlibrary loans)

To limit your search results to books, click on the "Format" filter on the left, and then "Book."

A format menu listing physical format options

To limit your search results to books owned by our campus Learning Commons, click on the "Library" filter on the left, and then "Grande Prairie Regional College - Grande Prairie."

Library filter that shows a list of academic libraries in Alberta

Finding Journal Articles - A-Z Databases

If you are specifically looking for journal articles, you may want to use the Learning Commons A-Z Database List. This list allows for direct access to individual databases, limiting irrelevant search results.

A list of databases licensed by NWP

 

The A-Z Database List also allows you to filter the databases by subject, further narrowing your options.

 

A list of Fine Arts databases

Handy Article Tools

Once you've selected a search result to look at further and clicked on it, you'll see a small toolbar on the right-hand side of the browser window.

This toolbar contains two particularly useful tools for the research process: Permalink and Cite.

Permalink provides a permanent URL that will always lead back to the article you discovered, and the URL will work whether you are accessing the database from home or on-campus.

Cite creates a basic citation for the article in a variety of formats. Please note that you should still double-check the citation against the citation manual you're using (Chicago, APA, etc.), as the capitalization rules and such for cataloguing the item in the database may be different than those required for a citation.

 

 

A Quick Note Regarding Interlibrary Loans

Our Learning Commons staff members are happy to help you request physical materials from other NEOS institutions, and there is no additional charge for this service.

Please note, however, that interlibrary loans take time to arrive at our campus. For that reason, we strongly encourage you to place requests for those materials well in advance of your assignment deadline.

Grande Prairie Campus
10726 - 106 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB T8V 4C4
Phone: 1-780-539-2939
Email: library@nwpolytech.ca
Fairview Campus
11235-98 Avenue
Fairview,AB T0H 1L0
Phone: 1-780-835-6750
Email: fvlibrary@nwpolytech.ca