The following resources are excellent places to start your research. They will provide you with the authoritative and expert sources you are expected to use for your assignment. For an idea of how to use and navigate these resources in the most efficient way, visit the Search Techniques tab on the left of this page or make an appointment for Research Consultation.
For a complete list of English Literature-related databases click here.
Below are just a few English titles we have in our print book collection. For hundreds more, search the NEOS catalogue.
-
Models for Writers: Short Essays for Composition (11th edition) by Alfred Rosa & Paul EschholzCall Number: PE 1417 M56 2012
ISBN: 9780312552015
Publication Date: 2012
Models for Writers contains short, accessible essays and helpful, thorough writing instruction organized to demonstrate not only the rhetorical patterns that students will use in their own essays but also the elements and language that will make those essays effective. This edition offers more coverage of the key elements of academic writing, including new strategies for writing a research paper and a section on writing a reflective essay.
-
The Little Penguin Handbook (2nd Canadian Edition) by Lester FaigleyCall Number: PE 1408 F33 2013
ISBN: 9780205002276
Publication Date: 2013
With a highly visual full-colour design, superior coverage of technology, and distinctive coverage of writing for different purposes, The Little Penguin Handbook speaks directly to your needs as a student. It provides precisely the kind of guidance that you need to write great assignments. Tabbed sections, bulleted lists, tables that highlight key information, and quick guides mean the information you need is always right at your finger tips.
-
The Little, Brown Essential Handbook for Writers (4th Canadian Edition) by Jane E. AaronCall Number: PE 1112 A24 2012
ISBN: 9780205784332
Publication Date: 2012
With fully updated sections on Academic Writing and Research and Documentation, The Little, Brown Essential Handbook, Fourth Canadian Edition offers students the “essential” information they need to develop their basic writing skills. Useful for any level of writing, in any discipline, and in or out of school, it answers the common and not-so-common questions about academic writing, the writing process, usage, grammar, punctuation, research writing, and citation.
-
Critical Thinking: an Introduction to the Basic Skills (7th Canadian edition) by William H. HughesCall Number: BC 177 H84 2015
ISBN: 9781554811991
Publication Date: 2015
This book discusses deductive and inductive reasoning, logical fallacies, how to recognize and avoid ambiguity, and how to distinguish what is relevant from what is not. It also discusses the application of critical thinking skills to particular topics and tasks, including scientific reasoning, moral reasoning, media analysis, and essay writing.
-
Making Sense by Margot Northey & Joan McKibbinCall Number: LB 2369 N87 2012
ISBN: 9780195445817
Publication Date: 2012
Outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage while covering such topics as how to conduct academic research, how to write essays, and how to properly document sources. Concise and accessible with new information on technology-based research and group presentations.
-
Rules for Writers by Diana Hacker & Nancy SommersCall Number: PE 1408 H277 2012
ISBN: 9780312647360
Publication Date: 2011
Rules for Writers is a college writer's companion that covers writing, grammar, research, and documentation in an extremely affordable and portable spiral-bound format. From the best-selling family of handbooks, Rules has consistently been the best value for college writers.
Models for Writers: Short Essays for Composition (11th edition) by 
The Little Penguin Handbook (2nd Canadian Edition) by 
The Little, Brown Essential Handbook for Writers (4th Canadian Edition) by 
Critical Thinking: an Introduction to the Basic Skills (7th Canadian edition) by 
Making Sense by 
Rules for Writers by